God – My Driving Force

I have told this story before, but every now and then, when I get in a place where I can’t seem to move forward, the lesson God taught me from a 1994 Nissan Altima, comes flooding back.

When my husband, Pablo, and I were dating he drove that 1994 Nissan Altima.  It got us where we needed to go, but the reverse had gone out on the transmission.  We spent extra time trying to find parking spots that we could pull through so that we could avoid having to try to back out.  
Sometimes we couldn’t find a spot and we would have to flinstone our way out.
Pablo would put the car in neutral.  He would stick his left leg out his door, I would stick my right leg out mine, and we would push our way into reverse.

Life is like that car.  We don’t get to go in reverse and if we aren’t going forward, we are usually stuck in neutral, doing things in our power, that end up taking us in reverse or just leaving us stuck in the same place.

I remember a time that I took the car out by myself and I was little scared to keep going, because I knew I did not have enough strength to flinstone that car by myself if I ended up in a dead end.

We do the same in life.  We get scared to go forward, scared to keeping moving on, afraid it will lead to a dead end.  
God calls us out to GO forward, and we get scared of what may be ahead.  

 

Life was meant to be lived in DRIVE.  Going forward.  There isn’t anything to be scared of at all.  God goes before us and our day can not cross us before it has crossed God.  He has already been there.  

  • “The LORD is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” Deuteronomy 31:8
  • “I will go before you and make the rough places smooth; I will shatter the doors of bronze and cut through their iron bars. Isaiah 45:2
  • The LORD was going before them in a pillar of cloud by day to lead them on the way, and in a pillar of fire by night to give them light, that they might travel by day and by night. Exodus 13:21

It really was rare that we actually had to flinstone our way out and go in reverse, because we were purposeful in how we went forward.  We were intentional about where we went, so that we did not end up having to go in reverse.  
In order to go forward, to grow, and move into our future and what God has for us, we must be intentional and purposeful about every step we take.
There will be times of delay.  There will be times of struggle that feel like they are bringing us backwards, but if we allow God to bring us through it, He will use it to bring us forward into places we never even imagined.

We only went backwards in that car when it was absolutely necessary to get us to a place to continue going forward.

We remember where God brought us from, but we don’t stay stuck there in park.  We don’t stay there in neutral trying to get somewhere in our own power.  If we didn’t put that car back in drive, allowing it to bring us forward, we would have ended up stuck right where we were.


I’ve shared stories of destinations I’ve been in that car.  The dates Pablo and I went on, the trips we took in that car, but we aren’t still there are we?  We are in a totally different season of life.  
We need to share the places God has taken us and where He has taken us out of, but that doesn’t mean we live there anymore.  

Life doesn’t come with reverse!  Stop living in neutral and Start living in Drive!
Share what God has done for you.  Share where you have been with Him and what He has brought you out of, but don’t get stuck there.  
Keep moving forward, allow Him to be the DRIVE in your life.

2 thoughts on “God – My Driving Force

Leave a Reply

